Homeless

If I were homeless I wouldn’t argue with my husband.

But I’d be alone and cold outside in the elements.

if I we’re homeless I wouldn’t have to pay a mortgage or rent.

But I’d have to move from place to place to skirt the authorities.

if I were homeless people would shun me.

But I’d have precious quiet time to meditate & pray.

if I we’re homeless I wouldn’t have a nice hot shower whenever.

But I wouldn’t care so much about fastidiousness.

if I were homeless I wouldn’t have a job and office.

But I would not be expected to excel & conform.

if I were homeless I would look unattractive.

But I would not be so codependent about mirrors.

if I were homeless no one could find me.

But I’d wonder why no one was looking.

if I were homeless I’d have no medical or dental care.

But I could avoid the arrogance of the healthcare system.

If I were homeless no one would tell me what to do.

But I’d have to entertain myself all the time.

if I were homeless everyone would give me advice.

But I could ignore them and live my life.

Life however, would be hard. It is hard and cold and lonely. I need to be aware of people who are unsheltered. People, not collateral damage.

Leave a comment